The first Monday

Ok, so missed out on Saturday’s blog and had a day of rest yesterday. For this, the first Monday of the Draw Duke Street endeavour, I am turning over a new leaf- I am in the gallery, the pencil lead lines are still sizzling on the page, I am capturing my thoughts as they coalesce.

Firstly on the drawing process itself. I’ve had a sluggish day slightly amended by a late spurt – lot of blank white nothing, but now, have satisfied myself to the shape of western duke street, and started to establish spatial relationships between locations. I began to draw Tibo today, using my old sketch from earlier in the year, to try to again, just get some space used up. This was useful, as I established exactly where hill foot street should be appearing and worked out that’s actually had my A board in the wrong place. Will now use an A and B board in order to get the job done I think, taking my likely board expenditure up to 18. Found it hard to work from the old drawing and found myself not trusting it entirely – why is that? I trust photographs more – I found myself resorting to google street view more, which is an interesting finding re dependence on the alter modern. Must tell Graham Lister about that one.

Street view is definitely playing a part, and it’s interesting my leaning on this, rather than just getting my coat on and taking a look myself. Is it because it is cold out? Or are the eyes of the google vans a third part I can appeal to – does it take away my own responsibility to see properly? It’s just easier overall, but I am worried about the distortions caused by the cramming 360 degree views into the format and what this means. It can still be hard to gauge exact proportions and there is no doubt, it is not by any means, an exact substitute for standing there and turning your head this wayand that. However, I can be near the work – the surface of the drawing, and somehow there, and immediately transfer impressions from one to another, so it is still of value.

So we have images appearing – the big accusing blank spots are starting to fill, but it is slow and I did not help myself by being so sluggish and unmotivated today. What helped oddly enough, were the drop ins…

It started off quiet – not a dicky bird for hours. Then a Spanish graffiti artist (no really) popped in and explained how he decorated the tattoo parlour (which has agreed to be in the drawing). He is going to stop by and chat on Thursday. Victoria Evans and Stephanie spindles came by, then a well spoken old lady of long standing in Dennistoun, then Emily, an illustrator, two kids from up the stair, and Nikki, a community education student who came in and spoke for a bit. This Re-energised things for me – it got my going, motivated me, got me thinking about what I am doing. It’s a benefit of the open studio element. I came away with leads and a realisation that I just, basically, need to perform, even if I don’t feel up to it.

That’s all for now – I may post an addendum once my brain has fully cooled off, but the committee are here to meet and I should get out of their way.

Leave a comment